Colorado municipalities pass, reject measures on marijuana, affordable housing, taxation | Elections

Coloradans in 85 cities and towns voted Tuesday on more than 150 municipal ballot measures, passing or rejecting proposals ranging from licensing marijuana businesses to funding affordable housing.

Residents of Cripple Creek, Hotchkiss and Palmer Lake voted to license retail marijuana businesses, while licensing currently leads a close race in Grand Lake, according to unofficial election results from the Colorado Municipal League.

In contrast, voters in Colorado Springs, Dove Creek and Nunn rejected similar marijuana trade measures.

Marijuana retail taxes have been passed in Colorado Springs, Grand Lake, Fort Luton, Ault and Nederland. In Larmar, an initiative to shut down marijuana establishments and ban possession of more than one ounce of marijuana failed.

Aspen, Carbondale, Salida, Steamboat Springs and Durango have adopted sources of funding for affordable housing projects, with the first four using short-term rental taxes and Durango using existing revenue from an increase in lodging tax in 2021. Vail and Dillon have also adopted similar measures to fund housing initiatives, development projects and community projects.

Voters in Grand Junction rejected measures to increase the lodging tax, a tax on short-term rentals and an increase in lease terms, all seeking to fund affordable housing initiatives. Denver voters rejected a landlord excise tax to fund tenants’ legal services.

Georgetown, Glenwood Springs and the local Estes Park Marketing District have each approved an accommodation tax to support workforce housing projects and workforce childcare needs. ‘work. Similarly, Snowmass Village has expanded permitted uses of its lodging tax revenue to include workforce housing, and Dillion has permitted debt increases of up to $20 million for construction projects. labor housing.

Other lodging taxes passed to Dillon, Julesburg, Littleton, Lyons, Nederland and Palisade. Lodging taxes failed at Centennial and Hudson.

Sales tax increases have been approved in Dove Creek, Englewood, Idaho Springs, Nederland, Superior, Wiggins and Windsor, largely to fund streets, parks and law enforcement. Sales tax increases have failed in Cripple Creek, Fowler, Gunnison, La Junta, Milliken, Sugar City and Yuma.

Denver and Fountain voters approved property tax increases to fund library services and public safety, respectively. Voters in Aspen, Pueblo and Erie approved extensions to various existing tax programs.

In Denver, voters also passed measures withholding revenue from two 2020 sales taxes, modernizing election procedures, requiring multi-family residential premises to offer recycling and creating a levy-funded sidewalk master plan for homeowners.

Fort Lupton, Longmont, and Sterling were allowed to increase debt by $10 million to $29 million each to fund a recreation center, storm drain system upgrades, and sewer system upgrades.

Additionally, Fort Collins voted to require voting by choice for mayoral and city council elections; Monument voted to become the 105th self-governing municipality in the state; Iliff voted against eliminating term limits for the mayor and trustees; and Avon, Eagle, Minturn, Red Cliff and Vail approved the creation of the Eagle Valley Transportation Authority.

Ballot measure Denver sidewalks close early |  ELECTION NIGHT 2022